Using your Mindspun site as part of an existing site requires proxy requests from that site to set a custom URL. The idea is to make all pages from a given site - including the Ghost pages - appear as if they are fetched from one particular domain.
For example, the page that you are reading now is live in a Mindspun site named 'mindspun-help' and is also available from its admin domain:
But the canonical URL is:
The main Mindspun site - www.mindspun.com - is proxying the requests from the /help path to Ghoststead while serving up other - in this case static - webpages directly.
- Configure your webserver as a reverse proxy
- Set a custom URL
Configure your web server as a reverse proxy
This is an advanced topic and is determined by how you run your site, but all major web servers, routers, and firewalls can perform this action. Refer to your web provider for specific instructions on how to configure it as a reverse proxy.
Set a custom URL
When your web server is configured to proxy requests for a specific URL to your ghost instance, you are ready to set up a custom URL in Mindspun.
Click on 'SET' in your site dashboard:
This will take you to a page where you may enter your URL.
Mindspun does not - and cannot validate - the value entered. Assuming you entered a syntactically valid URL, and then Mindspun will use it. It's up to you to ensure it works correctly. Changing the custom URL does not change the site content in any way - all the content is still available, the custom URL just changes the URL where the content is available.
NOTE: if you set a custom domain after setting a custom URL, the custom URL is overwritten. In practice, you might not want or need to set both a custom domain and a custom URL.
Clicking the 'Set Custom URL' button returns you to the dashboard.
After setting a custom URL for your site, the value used is displayed in the dashboard and the button on the right-hand side says 'EDIT'. If for any reason you need to change the Custom URL, you may do so by choosing the 'EDIT' button.
IMPORTANT: Changing the Custom URL once pages have links significantly impacts SEO. When moving your site, ensure there are HTTP redirects for the URLs of all the old web page locations which have links to them.
Deleting a custom URL
If you want to unset/delete a custom URL, simply delete the value in the above screen and click the 'Set Custom URL' button. After deletion, the site will once again be available only by its admin URL.